Tenth of December

13 10 2015

Was recommended to read this by a friend. I can definitely see the appeal of it: the writing is modern, informal most of the time. And certain stories are better than others: “Escape from Spiderhead” and “The Semplica Girl Diaries” are by far the best and most fleshed out, not to mention contain the most WTF moments.

Although I may not love the collection, it did make me feel more confident as a short story writer (as does Alice Munro). I feel like someday I’ll publish a collection of short stories too, as opposed to the “standard” novel.

image

Actions

Information

One response

20 12 2015
Levi

Good luck on your short stories! I feel there is a lot to learn about the craft from this Saunders book. Check out my review if you’d like: https://leviathanbound.wordpress.com/2015/12/10/tenth-of-december/

Regards.

Leave a Reply

