Same Love

28 09 2013

Am I the last gay person to have heard this song? I guess that’s what I get for 1. not listening to Top 40, 2. having an aversion to hip-hop, and 3. having an aversion to the same guys who did the annoying thrift shop song. I read in Xtra! the other day that someone called in to a radio DJ who was playing this song and demanded that he stop playing it because of the song promotes gay marriage, which, according to whatever religious belief you want to pick, is synonymous with horribleness. The DJ refused (yay) and lamented how it was too bad the caller missed the point of the song. So I searched it up on youtube to listen to it myself and see just how progressive this song apparently was.

I think I started tearing up in the third line, “I told my mom, tears rushing down my face/She’s like “Ben you’ve loved girls since before pre-k”.

So unexpectedly poignant.

And then when I heard “If I was gay, I would think hip-hop hates me” and then I started tearing up again. Sigh.

Anyway, there are a whole bunch of other things i could say, but I’m a bit tired, and anything I’d have to say is probably more eloquently said somewhere else. I will say that some of the comments on youtube are disappointing, but even the song points that out.

Why can’t we just chill out and enjoy a nice, poignant hip-hop song for once?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

