Sisterly obligation to be mean

18 06 2013

Once, when I was young and upset at my sister for being mean to me yet again, in a fit of frustration, I bluntly asked her, “Why are you so mean to me?”

She answered, “Because I’m your sister.”

As if it were a rule or a law that sisters must be mean to their brothers, or as if she was under contract that declared under one of the major headings that she had to treat her male sibling not like he was a family member, but like the loner kid in elementary school who was too easy to make fun of. Or as if her blood tie to me rendered her mind and her body incapable of being kind or supportive.

As if she couldn’t control herself when she laughed at me or put me down.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

