30 Day Movie Challenge: Day 8: Favorite thriller

21 06 2011

I think the genre of “thriller” is hard to define because it’s very often paired with another genre, like action or crime or horror.  There isn’t really a movie that is strictly a thriller, whereas it’s easier to label other movies as simply comedies or horror films or dramatic features.  Once again, I turned to imdb’s top 250 list and thought Inception would be a really good choice, since it did thrill me, but the genre of thriller wasn’t in the top 3 genres for the film.  Sure, movies can be categorized different from one person to the next but maybe I suppose thriller wouldn’t be the first genre I’d label for Inception.

Further down the list, I came across a little 1955 French film called Les diaboliques (which was remade by the Americans with Sharon Stone 40 years later and apparently it’s not very good).  I won’t go into the story much but I will say that it’s a film that made me wonder what was truth and what was lie, that really made me guess everything going on to try and figure it all out.  The climax and twist of the film is also filmed really well and for me anyway, managed to shock me and even scare me a little, despite today’s standards of shock, gore, violence, etc.  Watch it alone in the dark at night and the film will be even more effective…


Actions

Information

Leave a comment